Wetsand/Compound

Guest Sixty9Vette

Guest Sixty9Vette

Newbie here... I've been working on my old Vette's paint (base/clear) and completed the back deck as a trial before continuing since I haven't done this before. The wetsanding removed most of the orange peel, but I'm a little gunshy about going to far with it. Let's just say it's 'nearly' perfectly flat. Then on to the compounding stages with 3M Perect-It II and then a finer 3M compound (39002?). Also using a DA. End results is a stunning shine and mirror-like effect. Problem is... the color doesn't appear to be quite as rich or dark as before. I hesitate to say it's a milky appearance, but maybe that's what I'm seeing. I wiped the surface with some water & alcohol and used a magnifying glass, but I'm not seeing any tiny swirls or marks. Maybe I need a 10x loop for a closer view. Do I need to hit it with more compound if I don't see any marks? I'm using a variety of pads, from wool to foam, and finished it off with a very smooth foam padded cotton pad.

Tnx! :evileye

What color is the paint...Try this..order some Zaino5 and 3 Add 2 or 3 coats of 5 then 2 or 3 coats of 3...then top off with some Pinnacle sovern paste as a last coat...Do this every 24 hours for 5 days.....When your done you want be able to whip that @#$% eating grin off with laquer thinner :beer Remember the 3 has to cure for 24 hrs before next coat :cry If the grin dosnt happen then you might have cut the clear to much..Do you know how many coats of clear was applied..Show some pics up close if able :thumb

Guest goldntint

Maybe you should hold off on using a DA to wet sand with until you get a feel for how fast a DA can sand off clear. Like tintbandit has posted numerous times, when you are just starting out do it on a piece that you can trash if anything goes wrong. I learned this the hard way. Cost to repaint hood on wife's truck $300.00..