Rear Window Distortion

Guest drv

First, my apologies if I'm posting this in the wrong place and/or if the topic has been covered in a thread and I've simply missed it. As I'm not a tint professional, I feel a bit like an intruder here. Still, I'm hoping you folks might share your professional expertise/insight.

I have a 2003 Honda civic and had the dealer (actually an in-house subcontractor) install tint when new, but immediately had trouble with severe distortion via the back defroster lines. They tried to remedy the problem but it didn't work, and so I had them take it off until I could get back into town this summer. Now, they've tried again, but the problem persists. (I get a series (6-10?) of horizontal lines of light for each headlight-dangerously distracting when there's a number of cars behind me) Now, they're suggesting that we try "smoke" tint instead of the metallic that's on the rest of the car, as it will adhere more readily to the defroster wires. They've offered to redo the whole car or just the back window, it's up to me, and so I'm trying to figure out what I should be asking them to do. So...

1) Looking throught the posts on this site, it doesn't seem like this sort of distortion (I.e., severe) is common w/Civics. Do I perhaps have a defective back window?

2) What's the difference between the smoke film and the metallic? Is it a bad idea to have the back window in smoke while the rest is metallic?

3) What is a reasonable solution? :thumb

(I get a series (6-10?) of horizontal lines of light for each headlight-dangerously distracting when there's a number of cars behind me)

We've covered this before.....it's not a problem associated with film quality but a problem associated within the physics of applying window film over heater demister lines.

Once any film is applied, the bump on each line of the rear bends the visible light coming through and over it.

This only occurs at night and you can't do anything about it.