Another noob question

Ok, I'm doing a newer model Grand-Am tomorrow and it has the top 6" of dot matrix. I know there has been several ways to do this and I think I'm going to go with the glue method. I've heard sanding is messy with black dust and possible to scratch glass and can sometimes rust. I don't have a vinyl plotter yet so I cant go with vinyl. Therefore I'm going to go with glue.

For 1, I've never done a back window before so I'll be learning how to heat shrink. I've seen it done in person and have watched a DVD. As far as the Dot Matrix goes, I've read about glue sticks and elmers glue in the bottle.

What do you prefer when using the glue method? Sticks or the bottle? Please tell me specific glue so I can pick it up tomorrow morning before my friend comes over with her car. Also, how much do you use? If its the stick do you just rub it all over or do strips spaced out every few inches or what?

Thanks a ton for your help. :dunno

BTW I know your not suposed to state prices on the forums so can someone send me a PM and tell me what I should charge? The customer is a female friend of mine whom I've known for a few years, she knows that her car is going to be my first and doesnt care. I dont want to over charge yet I dont want to under cut myself. I'll be doing the entire car (2-door) minus the windshield.

Thanks

First, you don't need a plotter to use vinyl. All you need is a cutting device (olfa knife is preferred).

Second, the glue's purpose is to fill in the gaps between the dots, not to hold up the tint. The glue should be applied everywhere, not just in strips. Elmer's stick glue should be fine.

Last, if you have never done a back glass, you should not charge anything for the labor. What film are you using? If you are not a tinter by trade, odds are you will be using an inferior line of film, therefore I'd feel guilty charging her ANYTHING!

Guest Al-tint

You don't need a plotter to do vinyl.

Shrink tint over back glass.