cutting tint for roll ups

Guest newtotint

Guest newtotint

I'm new to tinting, I got a job at a local tint shop. only problem is the have a plotter that computer cuts film. they are not really showing me how to cut, seems to me that is pretty important, especially if I want to tint my families and friends cars at home.

I've cut it on the outside of the glass, but always seems to come up short?

do I need to keep moving tint over a little then cut so I have some extra?

this is how I have been trying:

:DD first I roll down the window a little, cut the top, then the sides a little, roll the window up and finish the sides and then the bottom.

any detailed info is greatly apreciated. I know it take practice but I'd like to know the correct/best way of doing it.

Thanks.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest lurkin urchin

shop owner strategy:

To utilize plotter for film cutting, so installers cant compete, and won't be inclined to steal film.

Oviously the Shop owner wants you to bring friends and families cars, to the shop.

Personally, I align the bottom edge to the top of the rubber

squeegee down film in the middle of the window

mark the sides with a marker

hold up the bottom, and roll down window a few inches

trim the top edge even with the top of the glass

Take over to the peeler and cut on the marked vertical lines, with a straightedge

LEAVE 1/8" - 1/4" Extra past the lines marked !!!!

Round the corners with a small radius

Return film to window and shrink the bottom edge

:DD

not too complicated, after the 1st one or 2

Repeat a few thousand times, and you can do it while talking on the phone, and selling

Im going back to hide in the bushes

like the other scared tint industry people

Guest newtotint

I usually short on the bottom when the window is rolled up. also the sides are not completely covered by the rubber.

The shop owner knows I want to learn to cut and he is cool with me practicing on fam/freinds. :DD

thanks