New to list/ wet sanding questions

Guest JT43

Hi, new to the list and have a question on wetsanding a new paintjob/clearcoat? I am not a professional detailer/painter but I've always wanted to do some automotive painting. So I practiced on my own car. I'm to the wetsanding stage of the clearcoat and then on to buffing (I hope!) neither of which I have done before. I will take any info on either since I don't want to screw up a decent paint job to this point. I put on three 'good' coats of clear, figuring I would not lay down anywhere near a flawless job ( I was right). I had a lot of difficulty with the clear, with the gun cloging and having to clean it a few times during the process. I figure I did not have the pressure correct and moved to slow so it clogged. I have the typical hairs, paint flecks from paint blowing off the masked areas, and rough clear from moving to fast and a run from not moving fast enough. All which I know can be worked on, but how? I was told start with 1200 and then go to 2000 grit wet sanding. How big of an area do you tackle at a time, one panel? Work in large circles or small? What about sanding pads. If you have any good tutorals you can point me to , I would appreciate it. I seem to work better watching someone do it vs. reading about it. Of course I didn't takle a simple one color paint job first off, I have a two-tone with graphics, airbrushing and shading. All this on my daily driver, hopefully in prep for my classic, if I ever get it to that point! I will probably post this in the paint and body section too!

Thanks for any help, JT

Guest AutoAppearancesInc