Cayenne

Guest Diamond Tints

Guest Diamond Tints

Anyone know any easy ways of getting the weather strips out of the cayenne/vw toureg as identical strips in both of them but the way they go into the doors are a pain

Any tricks to getting the panels off...? I played around with one about 2 yrs ago and had no luck. I forget why but there was something I was missing.

I have been tucking but have had a lot of problems. It is a big moulding.

Any info on how to take them apart is appreciated. I have been doing this for almost 15 yrs and this was the 1st panel I could not figure out. Granted it was a couple of yrs ago and it was the 1st Cayenne Turbo in town so I was a bit aprehensive!

Thanks again.

Guest Beeline

I cut them close on the outside. I don't remove anything. I do the 1/2 and 1/2 method. I buckle the bottom and slide it behind the gasket. I heat it and touch it up with a hard card wraped in a paper towel.....

Guest naughtydog

I now do the same as beeline. Leave the panel on, micro edge and leave it sitting just above the rub rail.

Naughty

Guest Rockabilly

Found it too hard to flip the top of the door trim, remove/replace the rubber and flip the trim back into the rubber channel without totally screwing up the rubber.

So, this is how we now remove the door trim on the Cayenne.

Picture 1 (door1.jpg).

Put a plastic lever (bone?) under the grab handle and pry it off. Less chance to break this flimsy platic trim piece this way.

Picture 2 (door2.jpg).

Pull the bottom of the arm-rest moulding, from the front of the door. There is a gap between the moulding and the door panel where you can get your fingers. Again, flimsy plastic, but it comes off.

Picture 3 (door3.jpg).

Red dots indicate where the torx screws are (no-brainer at this stage). Also a smaller torx screw at the bottom of the door trim, hidden in the carpet.