Installing 4-mil hurricane film and prep...

Guest torque2k

Guest torque2k

Thanks for all of this killer information, everyone; this forum is great. It's more than I received from the company we're buying our security film from! I'm new to applying window films (though I've been a sign builder for years, so I know how to apply thin vinyl graphics to vehicles and sign boards).

I work for a security firm whose primary business is installation of access control systems and video surveillance. We recently took a bid (and were accepted) for installation of hurricane/safety film on 20 large windows at a postal service site (USPS). The job specified Concord Clear Security Films (4 mil) and Dow 995 Structural Adhesive. I'm trying to do my due-diligence on this, but there are a few questions I need help with.

Question 1: Dow recommends a "solvent wipe" to prepare the aluminum and glass prior to installation using their 995 adhesive. Should I be using just an ammoniated window cleaner like Windex, or straight isopropyl alcohol, or a true solvent like Xylene? I have an install coming up in a postal center, and I'm kind of concerned about attracting paper dust to the surfaces if I use a fast-drying chemical.

Question 2: What is the best method to tool the 995 to achieve a good wedge-shaped gasket? I'll be removing rubber gasket material from the inside of the glass, but leaving "wedges" to hold the glass in while the film dries (this is kind of what I picked up from a previous thread on using 995).

Question 3: Is a standard vinyl squeegee (4" plastic, like the ones you get when you buy a roll of 3M Scotchcal film) a decent tool for this application, or should I purchase the "application kit" the film supplier (Concord was spec'ed for this job) is selling?