Need advice on buffer/polisher

Guest TravisT

Guest TravisT

Hi,

I am new to the forums, and have been poking around on here for the past week or so. I am very interested in learning more about being a good detailer - mainly for my own vehicles. I am in the USAF and don't have too much time for side jobs, but an occasional one here and there may be in my future.

My main question right now is what would be a good polisher to start off with? I thought about just getting the infamous DW849, since every body shop I have been to seems to have this polisher in use. At the same time, I know that in the wrong hands, this can do serious paint damage. I currently have an el-cheapo craftsman orbital buffer that I have been using for many years, but I just don't think it is going to turn out a GOOD detailing job (or at least I haven't been lucky enough with it). I have also considered the PC DA polisher.

The main project I need to do is to buff many light scratches and swirl marks out of my black 2004 GMC Sierra. I definately don't want to risk damaging the paint, but I know the only way to get a good deep gloss is to machine polish it, followed by a glaze and then a quality wax. I also have a 90 mustang (silver) that I intended to use as a test vehicle - I am not nearly as concerned about the paint job on this vehicle - it's in pretty bad shape and in the next couple of years will see a paint job anyway. I also want to make sure whatever polisher I get will last and be able to be used for my future polish/wax jobs. Can anyone make a good recommendation for a rookie detailer? Thanks,

TravisT

I have a Makita buffer, it was around 200 bucks or so.

If you are IMO you should try it on the silver car 1st.

I suggest using foam pads, white for compound and black for polish.

If you're not familiar with the process you can make black look like :stop .

Black, for me is a three stage process and when I did one I charged almost triple.