Dont wanna pull panels any more!!!

Guest JMass

Guest JMass

Ok I have been pulling panels for like 2 years, now I am wanting to keep them on to save time.. here is the hard part for me, when I get the top edge all sqeeegeed I run ito a prblem with it wanting to crease or whatever about half way down in on the sides of the window.. what do u do to prevent this while tucking the bottom. please help a sucka out. :bingo

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Ok I have been pulling panels for like 2 years, now I am wanting to keep them on to save time.. here is the hard part for me, when I get the top edge all sqeeegeed I run ito a prblem with it wanting to crease or whatever about half way down in on the sides of the window.. what do u do to prevent this while tucking the bottom. please help a sucka out. :bingo

when you tuck your sides back in the channel, always try and keep the film in a little sort of cone, this prevent creasing ans touching felts and what not. when you are squeegeeing the top part, don't squeegee all the way down to where the cone is, leave and inch or so, it's going to pick up anyways while you are tucking it behind the bottom felt. Flush the glass really well from the middle out, peel the liner and flush some more, the cone needs to be maintained though, so be careful not to lift the film too much. lay the film down, pick the rubber back and tuck the film behind and squeegee from the center out.

Now, a couple tips. You have to shrink and shrink well, or you will get fingers, a lot more than when you pull panels, and now they have more felt and dirt to suck up. I usually will cut the patterns dead on on the sides, and leave about 1/16-1/8" gap at the bottom, this way with the smaller surface area and a nice tight nickel, it lines up about dead even with the felt and there's no daylight or such. You don't want to try tucking 1/4" of film behind the felt, it's just bad news.