Caddy CTS - back glass shatters after tinting??!!!

Guest kowalski383

Guest kowalski383

Hey Guys -

I'm new to the forum, but I'm curious to see if anyone has had this happen before.

I've been tinting since 1983 (professionally since about '90) and I just had something happen to me that never has before. I just had a customer return with his back glass shattered on a '03 Cadillac CTS the day after I tinted it. The job went smooth, no problems. The next day I get a call saying that his back glass is shattered; he brings it back and, sure enough, it's shattered. Anyone ever had this happen? I'm thinking it was a problem with the glass that may have been aggrevated by tinting. It shattered later that night (finished the job around 2:00 in the afternoon); it was kinda chilly out and raining, but nothing outrageous.

I've been doing internet searches, and it looks like a good many folks have had problems with Caddys and exploding back windows (with/without tint). I guess I'll replace it for the customer (if I was in his place it'd be hard to convince me the tint didn't have something to do with it, though this is a first). Now I'm afraid to touch a CTS.

Anybody got any thoughts/comments?...

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest kowalski383

Yeah, I've never had anything like this before either. I guess I'll pay to have it replaced. If I have another one shatter it's no more CTSs for me!...

Guest thatsnappyguy