All you people who wants vectors

Guest type-xdesigns

Guest type-xdesigns

I'm not trying to sound rude or anything, I've just been wondering. Do most of you guys have any artistic skills or do most of you just use clipart? I've been doing vinyl for almost 8 years and I have only used clip art maybe 3 times. I either draw it myself or use a combination of tracing and drawing. You can use illustrator to pretty much turn anything plotable within a few minutes but I usually just end up drawing it myself or altering the trace.

Like I said, I'm not trying to be rude, it just seems like a lot of the local shops just use clip art and on here there is a lot of people asking for stuff. I'm starting to understand why so many shops are charging so little for work. It's easy to charge low when you don't put anything into it. I heard of one lady who was doing rear window logos but only in white and only in plain text. She couldn't recreate a logo. I know a lot of people have been getting into vinyl and don't have any experience with vector art or even drawing at all.

I may get out of vinyl and just get into doing vector images for people.

Guest TangentSigns

This Is Not Meant to be rude:

I don't feel that it is a lack of ability at all. I am a graphic artist very captiable of making my own vector art - I do both - yes I also use clipart. Volume is more the issue not ability. Clipart is fast if I have already done or in clipart why recreate it. I have also found that most customers don't want to pay for my time. They assume that creating there ideas should be a pleasure for me and a gift to them. If you only want to create vector files I suggest you make a clipart CD and sell it on ebay. You will never find a customer that thinks your time is as valuble as you do.

Guest type-xdesigns

Ya I understand thats its easier to use clipart. With my company, I specialize in custom vinyl graphics so for me, its kinda hippocritical if I am using clip art.