First quote advice

Guest Heavy351

Guest Heavy351

Hello everyone!

I am an IG glass installer in PA who has an opportunity to quote tint for a restaurant here in Pittsburgh. Job entails removal of old grey or smoke tint and reapplication (lotsa scratches tears and wrinkles)

We have been installing insulated units in apartments for over 10 years and I am trying to decide if I want to do this or not.

On the one hand tinting could be a nice addition to the business, on the other I have not done this on flat glass before (did an OK job on my cars back in the late 90's)

Not sure how to quote this, customer is looking reduce the glare/heat through side windows and entry foyer... my online research has installed costs something between x-xx$ per foot installed but should that be with removal also?

Window units are 5/8 tempered insulated within aluminum curtain wall and seals are good. Existing tint has been there at least 7 years.

4 pcs 25.5 x 79.25

2 pcs 30 x 75.25

1 big 91.5 x 63.5

What would you guys do?

Thanks,

Chris

#rwcglass#@#alltel.net# (remove # from address)

Welcome to the forum.

I'd contact an experienced flat glass professional and maybe refer the job to him/her. This is something you do not want to monkey around with if you don't know what you are doing.

Maybe you will be able to contact a professional near you through this forum. :rollin

Guest Heavy351
Welcome to the forum.

I'd contact an experienced flat glass professional and maybe refer the job to him/her. This is something you do not want to monkey around with if you don't know what you are doing.

Maybe you will be able to contact a professional near you through this forum. :rollin

Thats what the email address is for... The 91" window does worry me....

Job is in Cranberry (30 Min north of Pittsburgh)

Guest darkdan

Sub it out to a tinter. Establish a relationship with him.