Hello, film advice (yes im a non pro)

Guest james#70

Guest james#70

Just want to say hi to everyone, im not a 'proffesional' tinter, but am very interested in it. And do respect the proffesionlas that do it for a living.

So far I have tinted mk1 renault clio, citroen saxo, vauxhall corsa, I can do all the side windows pretty good. Have not as of yet succesfully tinted a curved rear screen (I have tinted them, but not succesfull, have ended up with fingers). I am geting a curved rear window from a scrap car which im going to practise heat shrinking on.

I have bought my films from ebay, as dont know where else to get it from other than halfords, motor stores etc. I have used 2 different types of film, the 1st film I used I found really good, it was advertised as anti scratch/anti fade etc etc, but it feels nice to the touch, and feels quiete think, and to date on my front windows after going up and down they have not scratched and I am impressed with it.

The 2nd tint I used was again from ebay but from a different supplier, this film felt thin and nasty, even where being applied with the squegee and soapy water it scratched, I would like to stay away from this.

Im not in the know about films and dont no the difference between llumar, suntek etc. Could you recomend any film? and anywhere in England to buy film from.

As im trying to improve my shrinking will I need a heat gun, so far iv just been using a hair dryer so this is probably where iv been going wrong. Will any heat gun do, or is there specific things I need to look for?

cheers for any help/advice, James

Guest Sunlimited

Practice with the cheapest stuff you can get for a couple reasons, 1. You'll waste a whole lot of it, 2. If you can learn to use that stuff, when you buy llumar or suntek, it'll be a hundred times easier....Good Luck, practice, practice, practice...

Guest 1reddime