Rookie Introduction

Guest MarioG

Guest MarioG

Hello everyone! Representing central TX...and BIG props to pro installers out there.

I'm very interested in tinting for a living; I've got some getting starting questions.

Ok, so I've got samples from 3M... 25' of FX HP, and 25' of FX Std. I also have samples from Suntek... 25' of HP and 25' of Std. I'm new to tinting, except for home windows.. I understand the general idea.

1. My partner wants to get a cutter/plotter.. is this the way to go for mobile tinting?

2. Do you still have to shrink pre-cut film? I'm guessing in some cases, but please give input..

3. I'm using the manual method first, to learn basic skills. I have alot of patience (stoner :cool ), and would call myself a perfectionist. I'm guessing these are ideal traits to posess?

4. I've picked up some tools locally, spray bottle, blades, squiege and towls, do I really need kits available online?

5. Are there any mobile tinters out there that use pre-cut film and what's your biggest problems?

Well, this is my intro, so give me a break OK? I will appreciate any feedback.

Peace

ps, if anyone needs audio equipment for a good price, check out MrBurgundysaudio.com

Guest Sunlimited

1. Dont show up to job smelling like a stoner

2.Learn how to tint auto proffessionally before you offer it

3. Your gonna need a lot more film to practice with than the samples you have.

Stick with the olfa knife, learn how to cut your patterns, shrink, and as many tips and tricks as possible. Check out Flat Rock Stan's videos, they'll help you out. You'll always have to shrink especially back glass whether its precut or not....practice,practice,practice :cool

welcome, computer cutter is ok for work, but if you are doing mobile then you will have to have it set up in a van or something if you really want to do it. I would suggest just learning to cut the film unless you plan to do dealers where you might be doing several of the same car over and over.....