Best Film to keep heat In/out ? (DIY)

Guest timc4444

Guest timc4444

Newbie here asking the pros. I'm planning on using film to keep the heat in and out. Most films have some privacy as part of the product.. I have noticed that most talk about keeping the heat out. Any help on films that will retain the heat in the winter as well ?

find a pro and get it done right....would you paint a car with spray paint?

As for the film that will keep heat in, there are some "low-E" films available but they are not as good as the other films overall. Solar film will keep you more comfortable in the winter as it will keep you from having "hot spots" and believe me I wish I had a better film on my own living room. It will hit an extra 7 to 10 degrees in the winter here with the sun coming in the northern windows. Thermostat set to 70 and it will be 77 to 80. Rest of the house suffers because the thermostat is in the living room.....that is with a film that is stated to do a TSER of 50% on a 7 foot wide, 4 foot tall window.....

So, get a good solar control film and you will love it year round.....but if you really want it to be done nice then get a pro to do it.....

the reason you should talk with a professional is that there are many things that need to be considered when applying comm/residential window film. you run the risk of glass breakage and/or seal failure without knowing these things.

is the glass single pane, dual pane, low-e, tempered, annealed?

what directions do the windows face?

is there any shading on the glass (trees, awnings)?

what's your elevation?

these are just a few things we consider when suggesting a film type. if you just go buy film without knowing certain specs on the film....like the amount of heat the film absorbs on the glass, then you could end up with broken windows throughtout your house. then you'll be consulting another type of glass professional. :thumb

Guest timc4444