working for dealers

Guest tint stroker

Guest tint stroker

just wondering if anyone does or has worked for a car dealership... and the pro and cons... I have been tinting for for 4 years now and the small tint shop/Line-X shop isn't doing to hot right now... the dealership down the street has headhunter me into coming to work for them... they have a ford, dodge, chevy, mazda, and nissan dealerships all within 50 miles and has pretty much guaranteed that I would stay busy tinting... they have pretty much said I have been there best tinter that they have seen in a long time and praise all my work... but I have heard some bad things on here about actually working for the dealerships... is it really that bad? and how do you think I should asked to get paid salary vs hourly vs commissions? right now I get a hourly plus a small commission hmmm... this is a tough one for me ride out the tough times at my current place thats lacking in work and hope things pick up in the summer or buck-up and work at the dealerships gahhh ideas anyone?

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

They will typically pay you on flag hour. You get x amount per hour flagged. I would try to get 2 hours or more for a 4 dr car and 1 hour for an suv 2 fronts. Its not bad money if you do all the cars on the lot. When I first learned to tint I worked at a dealership and made an average of $25-$30 an hour. The downside, they are gonna want you to work everyday they are open, or you will be on call on saturdays. I dont think its too bad though. The only bad thing I see is you have to work for someone and not yourself. Try and get setup as a contractor using your own business name. Tell them you will cover all the overhead. I would present it to the GM of the dealership. That way new cars will pay you instead if service paying you.

Guest Total tint