Help needed..before I throw plotter through the window!

Guest Crewey

Hi guys (and girls), I am new to this, but have recently purchased a second hand Mastercutter plotter (it says to install as a Graphtec ce2000). I have tried it connected to my PC via the USB but it will not work. The guy I bought it from said that he was never able to get it working from the USB so used it on the Serial port. My computer doesn't have a serial port so I bought a USB to Serial cable. However, every print just "fails"immediately. It wont even do a test print from the computer. I have been working on this for weeks now and feel that I will never get it working. Please could somebody help me???????? I would be very grateful of any advice (apart from "throw it through the window!")

Thanks

Crewey

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest djtekk707

this might be kinda dumb but w.e.....when I bought mine I had to try every single usb port on my computer(thankfully I have a few). But once you get the right one it should be recognized and be able to plot.....another idea would be to sell it 2 me real cheap.lol :shock

I don't know anything about plotters but when you install it on your computer you should be able to right click on the icon and go to properties then select a test page then go to ports and click on each port until you find the right one. Or the easier option would be go to a computer store and buy a serial port card and install it in your computer and be done with it cause usb to serial or parallel cables always give problems. :shock

I was having problems with my master cutter when I got mine, you have to buy the oriignal cables from the same manufacturer as the machine. :lol2