Sun Gard?

Guest ConsumerZero

Guest ConsumerZero

Hi, I just registered as a new member and I should say right away that I'm not a pro tinter or anything just a consumer looking for some quick advice...

A local tinter is running a group buy which is a decent deal/discount but they are apparently using Sun Gard film for tinting. They say the tint has a lifetime warranty, etc. and the shop is actually highly recommended by others that have had tint done there in the past group buys, but I decided to do some of my own research which of course landed me here.

Of course I read some of the threads mentioning Sun Gard and how the company went out of business and the brand got resurrected by another company. My question of course is, do I trust the Sun Gard film (a dyed film called Shadow?) or should I just forego the group buy and go elsewhere?

A competing shop has a slightly higher price but uses Solar Gard (why do all these companies spell guard as gard? LOL); It's HP (metalised) that they have though, but they also advertise NR (dyed) but it's even more money.

Is it safe to go with Sun Gard or should I stay away?

• Replies 105
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest tintgod

IMO...sungard has turned itself around with a company called solamatrix backing them with more money then the last company..the previous owners started to cut corners and using cheaper product to make their film...solamatrix came on board and started using better components to make the film..and I feel they will be one of the top four window film manufacturers in the future..the got a bad name for themselves that they have to work through. with better management and a big company backing them..I will trust they will make good business from here on out.

im other words..yes...I would trust them.

Guest absolutetinting

don't do it. and if you still do it ask for something else, a new product line from the new owners. old stuff is why they bellied up.