Pfaff 145 sewing machine shredding top thread

Guest barrys

Guest barrys

I am not a professional upholsterer. But, I looked around for a while and saw a good deal on a pfaff 145 so I bought it. It's an amazing beast and just learning how to sew on it compared to my Kenmore homeboy model has been a bit of an adventure.

One problem I'm seeing is shredding of the top thread. The machine was out of adjustment where the hook was running too close to the needle and it was whacking itself out of hook timing. Both the hook timing adjustment and the needle to hook distance have been adjusted by the guy I bought it from who is not a machine repair dude but who has used that machine and others like it for over 40 years. With all that, here's what's going on...

When I sew, the machine runs smoothly and the stitch and tensions seem good. But, quite often (at least two or three times per bobbin) the top thread seems to get some of it's strands cut and those loos strands start to ball up where the thread goes through the needle bar guide. Since I know that hook smashed into the needle at least once (and probably about 4 times) I'm wondering if I might have created a burr on the hook or somewhere else that's slicing the thread strands. The tension on the thread is so high (compared to the home machine) that I'm guessing it would not take much to cut a strand of thread.

Any advice or things to look for that anyone might have would be helpful.

I plan to take it apart a bit tonight and start "feelin her up" a bit and sanding down any obvious burrs with 320 abrasive. Also, is it possible that I snapped off the very tip of the bobbin hook? How sharp should that be. Sharp as a pin point?

Guest sewing_guy