On a downer with my roll-ups!!

Guest naughtydog

Guest naughtydog

I am fairly new to the tint biz but I am always keen to learn and progress. Today I tinted a Mercedes Vito, it;s the second one in two days. This is the older model and it has quite large roll downs.

fmercedesvito.jpg

I know this should be a straight forward job but I made a meal out of it!! :booga

I pulled the panels on this one as they come off easy. When I come to apply my film I remove all the liner and then try and get the film in at the front edge first and then drop the trailing edge in, this is where my problems occour. Sometimes the film will collapse onto itself and the adhesive will touch together, this leaves little specks in the film that you can feel after you have squeegeed the film. :thumb Sometimes the film may lick part of the top of the door and pick up sh!t. Would I be better leaving the bottom section of the liner attached and then setting the top half of my film and then try and feed the lower section in?? :booga

Is there anything that can be done with those little specks of sh!t, I sometimes get them no matter how much cleaning I do.

What are your methods and how can I change my ways and clean up my act!!

Thanks

Naughtydog

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Sometimes the film will collapse onto itself and the adhesive will touch together, this leaves little specks in the film that you can feel after you have squeegeed the film. :thumb

You don't wet the film before installing it on the glass? That'll keep the film from sticking to itself.

Guest tintgod

when applying the film like you do...put the front..or nose section in first...then let the film fall back onto you left or right forarm.depenting on what side you are doing...not letting it curl under or touch the top of the door or door frame...and work the bottom of the film down..shifting it into the back seal...once there...position it into place and squeege away... :thumb