Bubbles on new tint

Guest schnappi

Guest schnappi

Hi,

I assume this has been asked numerous times...so please excuse me for bringing forward this topic again. I am no expert but I have had windows tinted more than once. Yesterday someone I have no experience did a job for me.

The vehicle done has small portal windows on the front and back. I have no doubt these are a pain to tint. Both portal windows that were tinted yesterday have obvious and noticeable bubbling. Personally I am a perfectionist. However I understand and accept that a tint job may not be totally perfect. If you look closely you can probably find something on any job. But my rule of thumb is that if I am sitting in the driver seat and I can noticeably see something than it may not be acceptable. I have had this same type of vehicle with portal windows tinted in the past by someone else and there was never any noticeable bubbling.

I am in a cold climate and will give the benefit of the doubt and 30 days before calling and asking for a redo.

My questions are the following:

-What are the causes of bubbling of newly tinted windows (moisture, air, ect.)?

-Do certain tint application methods make noticeable bubbling on new tint normal for the first couple of days?

-After 30 days is noticeable bubbling (even understanding they are on hard to tint portal windows) an acceptable reason to ask for the portals to be retinted? I am far from a "problem" customer, but I also expect quality work no matter how hard something is to tint and I think that this is a fair expectation.

-If someone came back to you after 30 days with bubbling on hard to tint portal windows would you redo it or would you be irritated at the customer for bringing it back?

Thanks.