Just starting out

Guest TintStall

Guest TintStall

Hello all. I'm new to the board. I am in the process of opening my own business. I would not consider myself a tinter...yet. I have tinted a few dozen cars over the last 2 years for another shop and I do good work with minimal material waste- I just take a good 3-4 hours to do an average sedan. I've worked 80+ hours per week over 2 jobs for most of the last 10 years and I am tired of killing myself to build someone else's dream. I thought it time to work myself into the ground for me and my family. So I am jumping out on a limb and I have chartered an LLC. I plan to do jobs out of my garage as an extra income source while I continue one of my full time jobs for the time being. Hopefully I'll eventually have enough business to be self sustained and then one day have a store front. I'm a union electrician by trade as well as 13 years of experience with custom car audio install, fiberglass enclosures, remote car starters, mobile video, ect. I also have done home theater installs, home automation, home security, and some networking/low voltage professionally and a lot of mechanical work and rebuilds. Instead of opening a 'jack of all trades' type business though, I wanted to focus on tint. Personally I'd rather have an expert in one field work on my __________ than someone that knows a little about everything, so I'm carrying that idea forward that I want to be a tinter and supplement the remote starts and other skills during downtime. I have found this site most informative about everything from tint brands and best practices to marketing strategies and for that I commend you. My (long winded) question here is- what would you do/ recommend to get those first customers in and to get my name out there? What are the absolute must do's? Realistically I'd like to start with 2-3 cars/ week and move up to as much as I can handle. I have my install bay (garage) prepped, have all my tools and chemicals, and should have my fir