Defroster Lines Damaged ???

So I guess I'm just looking for other Tinter's experiences with removing tint from back windows with defroster lines. I have been tinting for 20+ yrs  and have removed countless tint film and glue from back windows using hot soapy water, Windex and sometimes Goo Gone with a soft blue scrubby and some elbow grease to get the glue off.  I've never had any problems with the functioning of my customers rear defroster after the job was finished. Now we've all had our share of "annoying" customers who want everything perfect and this particular customer happened to be an "annoying friend".  I tinted his jeep Wrangler and admittedly the back tint turned out horribly. (I blame it on an open garage door and a windy day). I offered to redo the job and removed the tint with said method. This was 8 months ago.  Well the first cold day we had.... he contacted me and said his defroster wasn't working and it was my fault. He told me he tested continuity??? and there were "multiple" spots where the connection was broken. Again I used a soft blue scrubby! I've Never had a problem with this method. I even called up some past customers that I remembered removing tint for and asked if they ever had a problem after I had removed their tint for them. All said NO! Everything was working fine.

Now my friend said his defroster was working fine last winter. Ist it possible that I had something to do with ruining his window??? Could the defroster lines already have had a problem and my "scrubbing" finished them off?    He found a factory tinted window that cost him $250 and he's going to leave it up to me to "do the right thing by him" whatever that might be.