Lack of tack on new cars

Hey folks, I'm a ppf installer that mostly installs on repainted panels. Therefore I am used to a great deal of tackiness when applying film (which I like). Recently I've installed on a couple of brand new cars for a local detail shop and I noticed a massive reduction in the films ability to wrap and stick properly. I don't notice any issue's regarding tackiness with headlights and pre owned cars with a few thousand miles on them. I am using next to no baby soap when installing on new cars (approximately half a drop, the solution has almost no lubricity what so ever) and yet when it comes to heating and wrapping my edges I am finding that it takes me at least 3 times longer to properly heat and tuck than it would if I were installing on a repainted panel. Even when I get everything fully tacked I am not confident enough to use a 2000 psi pressure washer on the film (even though I know my customer will). Please point out any variables I can change to make these jobs wrap easily and give me more confidence in the long term durability of the install. Right now I am...

- Using johnson and johnson baby soap (not dawn, but maybe dawn would work better?)

- Using llumars 5 year film (maybe llumar platinum 10yr would work better?)

- Clay barring and IPA wiping panels prior to install

- Using next to no soap in soap solution

- Using 200ml 99% IPA to 900ml water tack solution

- Heat gun set at 950 degrees Fahrenheit

- I am currently not compounding or polishing the cars prior to installation but I could if it would increase tack

- Waiting about 30 minutes for areas to dry prior to wrapping or heating edges

Thanks so much for your input guys, I really appreciate it!

12 hours ago, Aden said: