Want to start doing flat glass anyone here use these tools?

I've been doing Automotive for 8 years I used to help a guy (30 year vet) do flat work but he passed away. So I'm looking on taking on flat glass. was wondering if anyone uses the type of tools that measure the thickness of the glass and lets you know if it's strengthened or has low e coating (and type of coating) my biggest fear is thermal fracture. I always thought to just use a film to glass chart but some of the measuring equipment go beyond what is in those charts. Thanks

Always good to have tools that keep your @$$ nice and shiny.

Be sure to read up and understand which films/ glass combos  your manny shows as "high risk" .

If custy insists on a given risky film . Get them to sign off that they understand zero warranty and they will eat it not you.

A few years ago a glass shop lost tens of thousands of dollars  replacing glass we told him would break and would have zero warranty due to the risk.

The replacement glass was "film safe" and got us a second set of installs.

He now insists that HIS custy signs off on the risk when these situations come up.:chuck

Edited by WearTheFoxHat

Thanks for the input fox! Looking at some of the Manny's film to glass recommendations would it make sense from a covering your butt perspective to stock up on films that are safe for all glass types ei. silver 20. And only install those? Most of my clientele want privacy and glare reduction not really much into energy savings. 

14 minutes ago, WearTheFoxHat said:

Energy savings is an easy sell on a  large commercial space. The ROI for resi is much slower