Avoid it happening

Hi guys 

this weekend I was at a car meeting and I saw a Ferrari F12 TDF in in these conditions (pic Attached).

Now, it's not the first time that I see this kind of problem with PPF, especially in some areas like this one. Do you know what is the cause of this problem (why the PPF comes off in that point) ?? How can you be 100% sure before delivering the car? Thanks

IMG_2425.jpg

Edited by Matteo

I am not a PPF expert but seeing as how the vents on cars like that are actually functional and not just for looks, that seem to be a combination of brake dust and road grime getting caught up in the PPF over time.  Not real sure there is much you can do about that.  The brake dust particles are so fine and dark, I would think this is going to happen on all cars like this that are driven often.  Just my :twocents   and patiently waiting on the pro answers to this one.  

7 minutes ago, Bham said:

I am not a PPF expert but seeing as how the vents on cars like that are actually functional and not just for looks, that seem to be a combination of brake dust and road grime getting caught up in the PPF over time.  Not real sure there is much you can do about that.  The brake dust particles are so fine and dark, I would think this is going to happen on all cars like this that are driven often.  Just my :twocents   and patiently waiting on the pro answers to this one.  

Thanks for the reply! I want to understand why the PPF comes off in that point and how to avoid this kind of problem. It never happened to us but I do not want to deliver a car that presents a problem like this after 2 months! Thanks

Yeah, those are obvious lift point where the pattern is trying to adhere to the curve.

Options would be to wrap all the way around like you would the edge of a hood,

or cutting short to where there is no chance of lifting due to the curve pulling against the adhesive. :dunno