Interested in Starting Flat Glass

Hey guys,

I’m really new here (joined March 6th) so if this has been covered before please direct me there. I’m really interested in getting started in doing residential and commercial jobs but don’t know where to start. I’ve been tinting for a dealership now for 3 years and really enjoy my work. I’m just very curious in doing flat glass and would like to satisfy that curiosity. I have a few questions such as what my best/ most cost effective film would be to use to start with, if there’s any type of  film that customers most commonly want (darkness, reflective, etc.) and what I need to do to help me get jobs. 
The dealership I tint for uses Llumar but I know getting a roll of that would be expensive and I don’t want to get to deep into it financially in the beginning. I’m not wanting to cheap out, I know that’s going to hurt. But since I’m ignorant in flat glass I’d like the best bang for my buck. 
I’m located in Northeast Mississippi if that helps any of you with answers!

Thanks!

You're going to be paying around the same per roll for resi film when it comes to any major film manufacturer. DO NOT USE AUTO FILM. Maybe you can find a way to order through the dealership until you get your feet off the ground. Tell them you're wanting to tint your home or a friends. Or you can try to become a dealer yourself but usually have a buy-in that requires a large order. Check out Suntek. If I remember they don't require a large initial order to become a dealer. Just think though, one good home or commercial tint job would pay for two rolls of film.

Most popular film I use in my area is the Dual reflective and Neutral series of film. Customers with glare issues you want to recommend at least 25% to notice a significant change. Use Neutral like N1040 for offices and building who have heat issues but their building or property code requires little to no reflectivity.