How do you know when it's time to fly on your own?

Alright.. some background... Been tinting for like 4 years now give or take... one main company... did some sub work here and there. Just about a year ago I decided to go it on my own... those plans had to be pushed back due to some surgery I had to have and I finally started my own business doing flat glass in Oct. I teamed up with a designer and did work for her clients. About a month or two ago I started getting calls from referrals (sp?) from her clients... ie non-clients. :shock w00t!!

Back in like 1993 I started working for a friend of mine doing office cleaning at nite. Did that for a bunch of years... took a few years off.. came back to it. One of the guys he has working for him is leaving, and I'm going to take over the places he cleans. Only problem is, this will leave less time for tinting...

As I said, I've been working for my friend for many years.. not only is he a close friend but he's also a father-figure to me... he's helped me thru a lot of personal crap over the years, and he's supported me in any venture I've tried to make a go of. With the tinting, he has helped me financially and has said he will continue as long as I need help and he is able to.

So what's my point? :lol6 My point is - as I mentioned, I'll be doing more work for him since the other guy is leaving.... which A) I need the money and B) it's stuff I've been doing for years... ie a comfort zone.

In the past week, I've had 3 residential jobs... I had one estimate today, and three tomorrow. All in the same neighborhood. Everyone likes my work and prices, and word is getting around. :dunno:lol6

My question to everyone is how did you know when it was time to cut the cords and, sink or swim, just do it?!?!

I am so tempted to just turn down the additional cleaning work... which would leave me short when it comes to being able to pay my bills. But, that would kindof FORCE me to be more successful with the tinting.