Need help on a 99 Mitsu Eclipse

Guest 99Eclipse

Guest 99Eclipse

Hello. Let me first introduce myself. My name is Tim and I'm trying to learn the trade here. I've been reading on here for a couple months but this is my first time post. I'm trying to learn on my very own car for hopes to possibly turn this into a side business. I have a '99 Mitsubishi Eclipse. Yes, it has the nice compound curve hatchback. I have only the back glass to do. The other windows turned out beautiful thanks to this forum. I'm using 20" wide professional grade film so I'm gonna do it in 2 pieces. Last night was playing with some old cheap over the counter stuff so I didn't have to waste my good film. I was doing very good and was actually learning how to read the fim. I made my horizontal line with the squeegee but here is where I was landing in trouble. On each side of the horizontal I was getting 45* fingers, probably more than 45*. I tried to work them but it just messed up and ended up creasing badly. Because of the compound curves is why I get the 45's on each side. What should I do? Should I manually take my hands and push the film towards the center bunching it up to create more fingers and force the 45's out? BTW- I was using a wet shrink because I'm new. I believe that if I can just get those 45's out I'll be home free and proud.

Thanks for your help...

Guest ninjatinter

Wow my friend, you realy picked a doozy for your first job :shoot1 to learn how to heat shrink will not come easy. I don't quite understand what you mean about 45s ????? I would do a search on heat shrinking. alot of tinters have put some realy well written posts on different methods of shrinking. you realy won't get the knack for it till you've done a few, atleast. to bad you don't have a new mustang or something :woowoo good luck!!! :redturbo

Guest 99Eclipse