Wrapping @ SEMA

Well i will start off by saying i am new to wrapping, having only played with pieces of film for fun, not actually wrapped a car, so impressive skills to the rest of you and i hope to be at that level some day.

In my current state i just have experience in installing PPF and some vinyl stockers/decals, etc

i also work with Oracal 8300 series film for tinting tails, etc. So i do know my way around a hard card and heatgun

I attended SEMA this year and have to say WOW, i feel the whole vehicle color change process is really beginning to pickup speed! and i hope i can be a part of it.

Avery,3M,Hexis, etc all had vehicles being wrapped in their booths and by phenomenal installers nonetheless.

Since i am new to this i took in quite allot(i was unaware Hexis even existed)

there were 2-3 main things that caught my eye apart from the rest.

Avery

1. They are releasing a new chrome wrapping vinyl(that includes the usual wrapping film properties such as easy apply,etc)

2. The installer used a small blue tape looking like pin striping tape in order to lay down a design on a hood and then "cuts" it with a Kevlar string embedded in the tape, does someone have a part no. for this stuff? or know what i am talking about?

Hexis

1. I got to personally meet Oliver who i have to say is astounding at what he does, i feel he is really pushing the envelope of the industry. I chatted with him for awhile about the HEXIS films he was using and some of his unique tools/techniques.

one of them being this little beauty.

20111107150513.jpg

20111107150540.jpg

Not sure if any of you have seen something like this, but according to him, he invented it and there is very few of these in the world(like less than 20)

It has taken him 2 years to design one that has the right materials to fit well, doesn't make you sweat and also allows the tool holders to "stay tight"

It has enough room for a marker,4 other tools of your choice.

20111107150703.jpg