Vinyl Install Tools & Tips

Guest OMG35S

Guest OMG35S

I want to apply some oracle vinyl tint to my infiniti tail lights.

It is said to be a hard install due to the curves of the tail lights.

What would be the best tools and application for this job?

Hard card

Felt edge bondo

Olfa knife

Yellow Turbo

Water + Baby shampoo/dish washing soap

Thanks in advanced!

Guest thatsnappyguy

get some foaming glass cleaner, spray and clean the lights. stray some more on the lights and use that as the slip agent..its works great. I actually use that for installing decals on windows. use a yellow turbo. I never used that particular vinyl, but I know thats its alot thinner than what im used to " lamin-x." have the heat gun on hande for the parts that dont lay down by themselves. put the gun on low heat and not too close.

Guest OMG35S

2007 Infiniti G35 Sport 6mt Sedan...

Yeah I believe it stretches and pulls a little. They are Blue Bat's pre-cut overlays.

I'm not a pro, would a hair dryer be sufficient or should I spend $20 on a cheap heat gun?

Thanks for the tips.. Keep them coming.. I won't purchase anything for another day or so.

44tools is what someone recommended me and it seems as though they have some good products.

Guest OMG35S

List of what I'll be purchasing...

NT PRO A-1P Knife

3 1/2" Yellow Turbo

4" Lidco Felt Edge Bondo

4" Black Teflon Card

13oz Plexus Polish

Wagner $25 Heat gun

Is that too many Cards? I just don't know which one to choose...

Guest OMG35S
get some foaming glass cleaner, spray and clean the lights. stray some more on the lights and use that as the slip agent..its works great. I actually use that for installing decals on windows. use a yellow turbo. I never used that particular vinyl, but I know thats its alot thinner than what im used to " lamin-x." have the heat gun on hande for the parts that dont lay down by themselves. put the gun on low heat and not too close.