Commission rates, benifits, etc

Guest SixPack

Guest SixPack

Hello fellow technician! I have been doing PDR for 4 years now and have 1 year left of a 5 yr contract. Not sure where to go from there. Stay with the Co. or go out on my own. Anyway, I wanted to see what other guys out there were getting from the companies they work for. Would also like some input from the guys who go at it alone.

This is what I get from the company: small truck, tools, SEPT w/ 3% match, 2 weeks vac. (@ $200/day), $100 for health insurance (through the Company), 45% commission. I have to pay for my own gas.

This has been a slow year for my area but I am still doing pretty well.

Hope to hear back from some peps soon..

6PK

Guest Express Dent

Hello 6pk, your question isnt an easy one to give a straight answer to. I've done both and each have their own very distinct advatanges and disadvantages. Your benefit and pay plan isnt bad at all, some might say your doing all the work and only getting 45% but there is alot to be said for being done for the day and having a support network behind you. I received a very similar package when I was doing company work, worse in an area or two, better in others. I didnt have an opportunity to do anything other than push metal for the rest of my days and that wasnt good enough for me.

I work harder now than I ever did working for a Co. and some months dont make as much. The flip side is Im doing it for me and it seems to be easier and more profitable each quarter. I have the possibility of a very bright and prosperous future if I continue to work hard and make good decisions. LOL.....I could also find myself unemployed and begging for work come spring time. Thats the reality of a new business over the course of the first few years :hmmm .