Legality of installing "illegal" tinting

KS law allows net 35% VLT on all side and back windows. Had one of our city's finest visit our shop this morning, telling us we weren't allowed to install 35% anymore, because it makes most windows illegal in conjunction with the OEM glass. (I've been tinting for 15 years now, and already knew this.) So, this wonderful enforcer of the law continues on to tell us that he will start writing us tickets if we continue to install "illegal" film. He basically tells us to trash all our film and start stocking lighter film.

Now, I've always used the "I can get fined" excuse for people wanting true "illegal" film installed. However, I really don't know if that's even a true statement. While I'm sure all states are different, does anybody know where one could find out if that's even true? I've looked, and can't find anything regarding actually installing "illegal" film. I guess what I'm getting after is what fines, if any, can they charge us with? Or, IMO, is it just a newb cop on a power trip?

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest tintjam65

Seems KS is net 35, but you know that

Its like NC law, you need a film 40-45% to comply

Misdemeanors do carry fines

Here's some text dont know if its to old

KANSAS TINT LAW

8-1749a. One-way Glass and Sun screening Devices; Requirements; Penalties.

A. No motor vehicle required to be registered in this state and which is operated on the highways of this state shall be equipped with one-way glass or any sunscreen device, as defined in section 1, and used in conjunction with safety glazing materials that do not meet the following requirements:

1. A sun screening device when used in conjunction with the windshield shall be non reflective and shall not be red, yellow or amber in color. A sun screening device shall be used only along the top of the windshield and shall not extend not extend downward beyond the AS-1 line which is clearly defined and marked;