Newbie - keep geting contamination

Guest naughtydog

Guest naughtydog

I am sick of picking up contamination when tinting. I accept thet I am a beginner and we all have to start somewhere. I have been doing a job for a local garage and they stick me in this poxy valeting bay, the floor is dusty as hell and no matter how quick I shift the film from my "A" board to the vehicle some dust has settled on the prepped glass and voila!! - it looks like s**t.

I told them they cannot expect a good result when they cannot provide the right environment.

Do any of you guys get asked to tint in crappy conditions. I wont do it again.!!

Naughtydog

takecareofnewbie.jpg

Guest DontWorryItWillDry
I told them they cannot expect a good result when they cannot provide the right environment. 

That would be a great start. And remember, you can't really eliminate the dust and dirt, only minimize it.

Guest Litespeeds

That is why I tell all my customers that we have a semi controlled environment for tinting at my shop and that it would be beneficial for them to bring their cars to me instead of having me go to them. I just hate tinting at BODY SHOPS or other places with high levels of dust. At least you warned them about the possibility of contamination. Maybe you should try and rinse down the car and the area that you are working at to control some of that dust :beer

Guest thetintshop

a dusty environment is not an ideal place to work, so the customer should expect contamination. you might try watering down the floor when you start, it will help. but even in a semi controlled environment, most of the contamination is coming off the vehicle. I have people bring thier cars in covered in crap (literally, cow s**t all over it) and then start picking the hell out of the film when I'm done. contamination will never be eliminated, just reuduced, but it takes effort from the customer too.

Guest S and S