More price increases

Just got an email that 3M is jacking their prices up by another 5%, further reinforcing my reasoning to get out of the business. There comes a point where your prices are so high that it makes no sense for the customer to protect their car. Not everybody drives a Ferrari and can afford $1000 to put film on it. In my area, that market is not there. I've been doing this for 5 years. In that time, I've seen my wholesale price decline due to low ballers and my profits taken away by film/pattern increases. When I first started, my first order was a roll of 18 and 24. Now I'm paying what both those cars for a single roll of 24. What am I getting for that money? Absolutely nothing. It's the same film I bought years ago. I'm taking a manufacturing class as part of my engineering degree. There is no where near the materials cost in a roll of film. Even a 100% mark up, the materials cost is a fraction. Someone is lining their pockets somewhere.

Where's the increase in Venture? I've got a Venture installer doing cars for $300. Now I'm even at more of a disadvantage because I've got a price increase and he doesn't. Am I being screwed by the same company that I spend thousands with every year? Anybody who's been around long enough knows that price talks at dealerships. Quality only goes so far.

What people fail to realize, is this competes with other products the dealership sells. If we have to keep increasing our prices, it makes it less attractive to sell. Are they going to sell film to a customer and make $300? or sell paint sealant for half as much with the same profit margin?

This is a lot of bitching for a 5% increase, but it's like a cell phone plan. Everything is "only" 5%. Year after year it adds up.

Guest Sunlimited