To all you Obama lovers....tell him THANKS

So, for all who think Obamas 'Cash for clunkers' was a great thing, here is the backlash from it. Due to the fact that there is such a great reduction in the number of available used cars, since all trades were destroyed, used vehicle values are not depreciating, but increasing on the tax roles. This is causing all vehicle property taxes on the same vehicle you drove last year to INCREASE over last years amount. SO, we gave away billions for people to trade in vehicles that were only a few years old (which counted for many of the deals) and get a new one that was only required to get a minimal increase in gas mileage, which comes out of MY pocket, and now MY taxes on the vehicle I have been driving for many years INCREASES instead of decreases.

Thanks alot, Obama-Lama-Ding-Dong!!!

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest Sunlimited
so your vehicles resale value went up, does the increase in price you could sell it for offset what you are taxed on it?

In Ct we pay taxes every 6 months on our autos....Instead of getting taxed on what the vehicle is worth, it has jumped to bluebook value to make up for lost money......So my 03 f150 with 75k miles, is taxed the same as the 03 f150 Joe up the street has but is totaled.....