Flat glass jobs - how much film do you REALLY need

I did my first on-my-own job yesturday and today. The total square footage was about 490-500. I got a 72" box, which gives me 600. As I pulled my last piece, I went to cut it along the box, and I saw the white core! Now, I knew I would use more then the ~500 including waste and such, but I really, really cut it close. :rollin If I had needed to redo that last panel, I would have been SOL.

So my question is, for future jobs, how should I be calculating how much film I need?? Since I'm just starting out, I don't really have a supply of film just sitting around. Basically I did the est. on this job, ordered the film, did the job. Which is how I'll probably do it for a little bit at least.

I don't have a film cutter, so my cuts aren't exact. I just use the box top.

Guest tintslut

figure out how many linear feet off a roll you will need.

If you have 10, 48 x 55 windows, you would need 40 linear feet which equals 200 square feet. If you just figured out square footage based on your measurements,

you would have come up with 184 square square , and you would have been short

16 square feet, the above illustrates using a 60 inch roll.

Guest TintPoser

If you are buying 72" to cut to size, I would have the roll cut to roughly 40" and 32". You can usually get most of the windows out of that roll. for windows over 40, you might want to buy a 48-60'' roll. It will take a few jobs to pay for it, but in the long run you will make it up.