Hey all, new guy here.  My name is Brayden and I'm from Utah.

I've been lurking around TintDude for a few months now and a figured it's time to make an account and become part of the community.

I'm very new to the world of automotive window tinting, but I hold MECP basic certification and have a 12 volt background.  About a year ago I started buying pre cut film on eBay and caught the bug.  I soon got sick of the terrible film quality, as well as ruining patterns and not being able to finish the vehicle.  A local tinter convinced me that I needed to begin hand cutting, so I picked up some American Standard Window Film and I've been working on that the last 6 months or so.

Besides a few tips from local professionals, I'm 100% self taught.  YouTube has been an excellent resource for me, and I've spent countless hours watching and studying the techniques of professionals.  There's something about the challenge of tinting that really intrigues me so I'm doing my best to learn all I can about the skill and the industry.

I just graduated from school and have a 9-5 job I can't afford to walk away from right now.  But as my skills increase overtime I would definitely be interested in tinting as a full time gig.  I know there's a lot of money to be made if you put out quality work.  I spoke with a local shop owner who sort of offered me a shot, but he was only paying $300/week + a small commission on each job (can't remember the exact number).  I simply couldn't afford that pay cut so decided to pass.  I would also be required to do flat glass installs, which I really have no desire to do.  I am an car enthusiast and would much rather spend my time improving my skills on automotive.  But I do realize, "beggers can't be choosers" when seeking employment.