Mini Panes

Ill be the first to admit that Im not very good at mini panes. If I did them one at a time, they turn out perfect, but I typically do 1-2 rows at a time. I do spend a lot of time cleaning...over and over it seems, but I still get some trash in them. Not a lot of trash, but still, its there. In your experience, what is the best way to clean and install on mini panes?

The reason I ask is because I sold a mini pane job over the weekend. 132 panes on the front of the house. When I worked for another company (this will sound bad) I didn't worry too much about them not being absolutely perfect. Now I have a reputation to grow. I did only one mini pane job last year (120 approx) and it took me about 7 hours to do.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest joesinla

I like to clean them as usual, except don't re-wet the glass, leave it dry. Then wet your small piece only. Just the right amount of soap is important as you don't want and fingers to come up and bring with it contaminants. I also cut at an angle at each corner allowing for an easier/cleaner cut. If you do cars good you can do french panes well.

I price them high enough that I don't have to worry about it. I know that the least amount of liquid you can get on the window the better it will be.

Exactly! If you do multiple panes at a time, it's better to use the least amount of water as you can!

I would rather be doing a larger window and making the money than screwing with those little PAINS..... I expect to be getting paid for my time and it is hard to justify the money that one needs for the time on those little buggers.

Are you making the money or are you doing it for less than you should?