1980 Camaro

Guest Paul Crawford

Guest Paul Crawford

I'm a self taught weekend warrior tinter for about 3yrs now. I've done around 65 vehicles now and today I felt like this was my first go at tinting.

A friend wanted just the two front doors of his 1980 Camaro retinted so I peeled off the old tint and proceeded like normal. I tried three times before I got the tint on the first window the way I wanted ( I'm an @nal perfectionist ). Them I sqeeged the hell out of the tint and heated the edges ( I file the edges ) and just a few minutes after I got done, there were smaller bumps all over the place that looked like air bubbles. So I tried it again with NO heat at all- same thing, just took longer to appear.

Now I'm getting Pissed! I tried it again with a different brand and type of tint-same thing. Then I tried tinting the curved side of the front windshield as a test and again- same damn bubbles coming from a dirt free, perfectly normal looking tint job.

Then I tried the whole process over again with a different soap solution- yes, same bumps, bubbles. I also tried the different tints on my test glass w/ and w/o heat and the tint turned out great.

These bumps aren't dirt water, or air- trust me- but when they appear out of nowhere, they look like tint does when you over heat it after it's applied.

From my testing different tints solutions and glass, it seems to only happen on the Camaro's glass. IT HAS TO HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE GLASS. Did they do something to the glass that year or is it all older cars?

I always scrape the glass, wipe, sqeegee, rub w/ nylon scrubber, wipe and squeegee a few more times during prep. This has NEVER happened before and I'm really confused. PLEASE CAN SOMEONE OFFER SOME ADVISE!!!!!!??????

Thanks Alot!

Paul

[/b]

Guest thetintshop