10 year and 5 year warranties?

So im pretty new to the PPF field and had a question about PPF warranties. I offer two types of films to my customers so they have options with pricing. I sell the Xpel Ultimate with the 10 year warranty and Sunteks PPF C with the 5 year warranty for customers who want to spend less but want the PPF work done. From what ive been reading on here and around town. These are the only two companies that has the self healing top coats. My question is why is there such a big jump in warranty years. What makes the Xpel Ulitmate last longer? Thickness, top coat, what its made from? Ill be attending my first SEMA show this year and plan on picking the reps brains a bit while there. Any info would help. Just wanna give my customers the right info about what their investing in.

I cannot speak for the other film companies, but I know we (XPEL), determined the length of our warranty based on a series of tests (accelerated weather, UV , submersion, etc.). Based on the results of these tests and observation of real world performance, we felt that our product would maintain a high quality appearance over a 10 year lifetime without requiring any special care or maintenance.

Lifetime warranty just means people don't keep cars longer then 3-5 years. They think ,we will have less then a 1 percent return rate so who cares. I wish a liftetime was not even an option on tint or PPF. I feel all film companys have a goal to make a film as cheap as posible and keep it under that low return rate, and keep profits as high as possible. After all its the shop that looks bad in the public eye when all goes wrong not them, so why do they care. Yes a little bitter this morning.

Five years is long enough. After that its a nightmare waiting to happen.IMAG0145_zps8b267b31.jpg

I was thinking the same thing.