Expanding my shop to window tinting

Guest Cjcaraudio

Guest Cjcaraudio

I currently have a 4 bay car audio and video shop and have been thinking about expanding to the tinting market. I've been doing a lil research on which tint to buy because I currently have access to viper,solarfx,and Fahrenheit. I think I'm going to go with the solar fx brand because of all the reviews. I was looking to hire someone but I think I'm going to just reteach myself I haven't done any window tinting in about 8 yrs. I'm not a pro at all but I have at least done about three cars but I'm still learning. Can anyone provide me with some tips for beginners with a lil experience? I need to know what rolls should I stock as far as inches not %. Also what tools are best because I have access to all of that and is the 2 ply the better film??? About how many cars can you get done off a 100ft roll?? Thanks guys

all your questions have been answered many times.... so try the search and I bet you will find more answers than you need.

As for what to do for a "tinter", I would suggest seeing if there are any in your area that would do a "semi-mobile" set up and you set a day for them with the appointments set up.  Provide a bay and them some good money for their time.  That is what I do with a bunch of shops.  I do the work, with my tint, my tools, and my warranty.  The provide the space and set the appointments for a percentage of the work.  They get 10 - 20 percent of what I charge for the day.  It is not set up for the shop to make a great amount on the front end of the work but you should be able to use it to your advantage as they will bring in more work or add to what you already offer.

You get a, hopefully, seasoned professional and you don't have the headache of trying to learn something new, just 3 cars under your belt you are still going to "learn" a LOT, or training someone....