Somebody please save my a$$

I have been tinting for close to six months and am finally perfecting most back windows EXCEPT.... I just had to send home a 2002 Bonneville because of the damn reverse curve! Some may know but i posted a topic a couple months ago because an 02 camaro was kicking my a$$ as well. I have done my research on these cars too! I dont know what it is about these reverse curves, because i am good at shrinking and at handling film as well! Can someone give me any GOOD tips??

I know most people will say to not shrink the bottoms on these bonnevilles. I tried it wet and failed. Then i dried it with a drier sheet and shrink the top only and couldnt get the bottom flat. Can someone tell me if there is a very specific way you need to squeegee the bottom if done without shrinking???

I do feel safer when shrinking the bottom. i had success doing the camaro this way.

Sorry to bring up old topics guys but for some reason i cannot get these windows. Also having the slightest doubt in the back of my mind while doing these windows doesnt help either. Grrrrr!!! I can usually figure these things out but i really need some guidance on this one. Rest of the car is tinted!!

Thanks for reading

-Brandon

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

pretty sure the reverse curve glass should snap right in. all you would have to do is shrink the tops. Honestly if a customer called for a quote on an old piece of junk like that I would tell them 10 000 I don't like working on cars like that. I say kick it to the curb and book something newer

Ok but how?? I prefer not to be shrinking on the inside

It is a good idea to have a helper on the outside with a heat gun(lightly heating the curve spots)  as you are installing.  This will also make the adhesive tack up and take the curve better.