What got You Started?

Guest General Sun Shield

Guest General Sun Shield

As for me, My father started in 1974. So I was raised in the biz.

Started working with him at 14 years old in summers cleaning glass,picking up trash etc...by 16 I was tinting cars,

In High School I used the Auto Shop as an Installation Bay. Did kids cars and the principles Motor Home...How do you think I graduated? :rollin

And after High School I jumped in as a full time installer. And Here I am.

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest sonny ogles

had just turned 17 and was looking for a job and in a last ditch effort to fined work I stopped in to a tint shop the town over from where I lived and as luck would have it he was looking for a do boy and as time went on I became one of the best in the area and from there I worked for some other shops until I opened my own place

Pretty much the same thing..Dad did commercial and residential in 1978 , I started with him handing tool , cleaning windows when I was 8 yrs old, by the time I was 13, I could tint flatglass just because of being around it so much after school /summer jobs , 14 tried my first car , 16 start my own side biz with cars (dad didn't want anything to do with them ) :rollin

Flat glass brought up, auto for the most part self taught, worked in a big city shop for a couple of yrs which helped me get doors down :rollin

Guest thatsnappyguy

seen that my cousin bought tint and did his cargo windows on his van. though it was the coolest thing. so I bought tint and tried it myself...I sucked so bad and didnt have a clue. so I went with some of my freinds when they got thier cars tinted...talked to the tinter, and he basically let me work there for a few months. got the basics from there and then it took off.....