Dot devil ? and removing tint

Guest naughtydog

Guest naughtydog

1. Do any of you guys use dot devil available from filmhandler.com and if so, how does it work/what is it??

2. I am new to the tinting biz and today made a mess of a drop glass( thats a wind down window in the US), It was'nt till I wound the window up that I noticed that the film was a few millimeters to short. I ripped it off and started again. My question is this though. I had a devil of a job getting the window clean due to the remains of the adhesive. What is your favourite method of removing adhesive/tint. I notice that there is a solution available called "tint-off" - I dont know if it is available in the UK though?? Are there any other chemical alternatives available, I can't stretch to a steam machine right now.

thanks

naughtydog

Guest powertints

Use your mounting solution and spray the window. If you don't already have one get a "widget" or a small holder that holds a 1" razor blade and scrape. The mounting solution provides more lubrication than dirt-off, however I always do a final clean with dirt-off before I mount the film. Someone also posted on using a UV light anf turning the lights off in the shop to detect any missed glue. Good luck

Guest tintslut

dot devil and dot mate,,,, a mild acid ,,, removes a little bit O the matrix,

but not as much puttin the razor to it.... I second OT's input,

A WASTE OF $$$$$$

Guest solar solutions

I use dot devil alot, it works pretty good if you use it right.I spray it on a white scrubby and scrub till you see the color black on the scrubby.

I also use tint off,and its a life saver, spray it on and wait a few minutes and scape it off with a new stainless steel razor.

Guest thetintshop