Automotive film specs are not what you think!

I have been tinting for 27 years. I have made some interesting discoveries that I would like to share. If anybody could add to this or tell me where I might be wrong, I would really appreciate it. If I am right, your life will be changed forever as a tinter. You will never look at automotive window film the same way. Enjoy the video!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KpyqYwgZRW8&feature=share&list=UUdlsBvAHtvwzAJdwjYMRwHw

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Ralph, does your IR meter measure the whole of the IR spectrum or just part of?

This is what 3M has been saying re. Crystalline/ Prestige and multi layer technology dispersing heat for a long time now isn't it?

If we cannot compare films accurately with TSER nor IR as to heat block out , then what measure do you suggest?

Not knocking you at all, in fact good on you for being proactive in this way.

Ralph,

Nice presentation I see where you going but there are some inconsistencies in your demonstration.

• Are you simulating visible light energy with that IR lamp or is it mostly just IR energy? If it is mostly IR energy then how can you accurately determine which film actually performs better when you are leaving out almost half of the Solar Spectrum (Visible Light)?
  • What em bandwith does the Beam Splitter Pro measure to determine the IR percentage number? If it is not measuring the majority of the NIR spectrum then how could you with certainty claim that the darker film rejects more IR than your Panaflex film? Add to that the fact that the energy in the IR bandwidth is not consistent at all wavelengths. Films filter energy at various wave lengths better than others, but their total energy filtering capability can only be determined by measuring the filtering ability of all 3 Solar Spectrum areas as you mentioned at the end of your video. You are not doing that.